Ms. Hepburn was right

Time is counting down and I’m nervous.

With just 2½ weeks to go before I leave for Paris, I’m starting to feel the pressure. There’s still a lot to do, a lot of things to take care of, a lot of people to see. I keep adding to-do’s to the list, but not checking off nearly as many as I’d like. Each one that’s added I think “hmm, I can get to that another day, after work” but the number of “after works” is dwindling faster and faster as days pass and calendars get filled with events.

There’s a car to sell, and people to share my news with. There are items to buy because I don’t know what I’ll be able to get in France. There are errands to run. Organizing to do.

I’m anxious and excited, dreading it and wishing it would happen already.

There’s a lot at stake and I have no idea what to expect when I arrive. It’s certainly not going to be all roses and rainbows once I get down to the day-to-day, working from home and trying to shop for groceries and attempting to navigate the métro. And understanding the language. Ohh boy am I nervous about the language!

As different waves of nerves have hit me, I started looking for some inspiration, some words of (cliché) wisdom to make myself feel better. Some sign that I’m making the right decision and this is going to be a good thing.

Paris Audrey Hepburn

Ever the symbol of effortless cool and Parisian dreams, Ms. Hepburn came through for me when I was reminded of this quote. It’s not revolutionary, and there are probably a million tween girls circling this quote with hearts and sparkles. But I think it speaks to the decision I made months ago, when I thought… “What’s the worst that could happen?

It ten years, will I regret going to Paris or will I regret not going? Never knowing what it might have been like or what could have come of it seems a terrible fate.

Ultimately, nerves and all, Paris is definitely a good idea.

One thought on “Ms. Hepburn was right

  1. “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

